Mbali Tyolo – Quantitative Analyst Trainee

/, Nedbank/Mbali Tyolo – Quantitative Analyst Trainee

Mbali Tyolo – Quantitative Analyst Trainee

What degree did you study at university?

BSc (Honours) Applied Mathematics at Stellenbosch University.

What is your role at Nedbank?

Quantitative Analyst Trainee.

Can you tell us why you chose this career? 

I chose this career because I saw it as an opportunity to develop my finance skills and knowledge; this career is an ideal combination of financial and mathematical skills. Overtime I learnt that this career would put all the knowledge and skills I acquired at university to good practice and test.

What’s a typical day like in your job?

A typical day entails going through emails, working on the current task or project, which will mostly be programming based. Going through code, programming and some Google sessions of financial terminology and code snippets.

What are the some of the highlights and challenges of your role?

A few highlights: the learning, personal development and meeting incredible people. Nothing is more exciting than having an active and enthusiastic mind, that is the opportunity the role has given me, to keep my brain active to new information, skills and experiences. I am constantly learning new things, from banking insights, programming languages and essential work-life skills. My skills and outlook of life attest to the personal growth of being in this role. The graduate programme has given me a space to interact with the brightest, most compassionate and knowledgeable minds and I would not trade that experience for anything.

How do you keep up to date with all the changes in your profession?

Online courses are very helpful in educating and enhancing my skills. Social media platforms also assist as a form of information. I connect and follow companies and people in the same field of work, who share and write about different aspects about the field of work. Subscribing to different websites relating to the field, where there are constant news updates and need-to-know information

What do you enjoy doing for fun outside of the office?

I enjoy reading African authored books, a lot. I also enjoy spending time is places like nature reserves and parks. Most importantly, I enjoy spending time with my family and watching TV.

2020-05-14T08:52:34+00:00Interviews & Profiles, Nedbank|